Speeding Violations: New Jersey Drivers
Union County Traffic Tickets Defense Lawyer
Here at The Law Offices of Anthony N. Palumbo, we understand that everybody is in a hurry. If law enforcement cites you for speeding, however, the impact is much greater than 15 minutes of your time and a traffic fine.
If you decide to pay the ticket without consulting an experienced speeding violations defense attorney, you are, in effect pleading guilty to the violation. You may have to pay more down the road in increased insurance costs, depending on how fast you were going.
Before you get out your checkbook, call The Law Offices of Anthony N. Palumbo at our offices in Cranford and Elizabeth, New Jersey. I am Attorney Anthony N. Palumbo, lawyer and partner at our firm. I have more than 35 years of legal experience, focusing my practice on aggressive criminal defense, including traffic tickets.
As a former prosecutor I know firsthand how the police and court systems function, and am determined to build an excellent defense strategy for the best possible outcome for my clients.
Understanding the New Jersey Motor Vehicle Points System
Every time you are charged with a moving violation, points are assessed by the New Jersey Department of Motor Vehicles. If you accumulate excessive point violations over a year or are found guilty of DUI, you may have to pay a surcharge. The DMV has the power to suspend your license if you accumulate 12 points or more.
Moving violation points can add up quickly:
- Failure to yield to a pedestrian in a crosswalk: 2 points
- Failure to observe traffic signals: 2 points
- Going 1 to 14 mph over the speed limit: 2 points
- Going 15 to 29 mph over the speed limit: 4 points
- Going 30 mph or more over the speed limit: 5 points
- Racing on a New Jersey highway: 5 points
Lawyer Anthony N. Palumbo’s goal is to defend you with sound legal strategy. We may try to get the speed charge reduced by plea bargaining. It may be possible to get the violation dismissed entirely, with the payment of a fine and no points charged on your driving record.