Knowingly Leaving the Scene of an Accident
New Jersey Leaving Scene of Accident Attorney
Union County Hit and Run Lawyer
In New Jersey, there are two offenses called leaving the scene of an accident. The first is a traffic violation which carries relatively light penalties, but the second is a criminal offense which carries severe penalties. This page discusses the criminal charges for leaving the scene of an accident. To view the law and penalties for the traffic violation offense, visit my leaving the scene of an accident page. It is important to remember that whether your charge is civil or criminal, the right attorney can greatly change your prospects of success. My name is Anthony N. Palumbo and I have experience defending both the traffic and criminal violations for leaving the scene of an accident. I understand what causes people to panic and flee, and I won’t judge you. Contact me at 1-866-664-8118 for a Free and Confidential Consultation. In the vast majority of my cases, I obtain extremely favorable results for my clients.
Our firm defends individuals accused of offenses in counties throughout the State of New Jersey such as Middlesex County, Essex County Somerset County, Hudson County, Ocean County, Monmouth County, and Union County including the towns of Elizabeth, Linden, Clark, Rahway, Roselle, Roselle Park, Hillside, Garwood, Cranford, New Providence, Mountainside, Plainfield, Berkeley Heights, and Fanwood.
I defend the following crimes:
- Aggravated Assault
- Hit and Run
- Assault by Auto
- Reckless Endangerment
- Simple Assault
- Terroristic Threats
Criminal Charges & Penalties
A driver who knows he is in an accident and knowingly leaves the scene of the accident under the traffic violation offense for leaving the scene of an accident will be guilty of the criminal offense for leaving the scene if the accident results in serious bodily injury to another person.
Serious bodily injury is defined as an injury involving a substantial risk of death or serious permanent disfigurement, protracted loss, impairment of the function of a bodily member or organ.
If the accident results in serious bodily injury, it is a third degree crime which carries 3 to 5 years in prison. However, it is important to note that if the accident results in the death of another, it becomes a second degree crime which carries penalties of 5 to 10 years in prison.
Merger with Similar Crimes
Being charged with criminal leaving the scene of an accident does not mean that a person cannot be charged with aggravated assault or assault by auto. Thus, a person may be charged and convicted of all three crimes from the same accident and sentenced separately to each crime with sentences to run consecutively.
New Jersey Criminal Defense Attorney
Despite the severity of the penalties associated with leaving the scene of an accident, the prosecution must still overcome many hurdles before obtaining a conviction. As an experienced New Jersey defense lawyer, not only do I know what the prosecution needs to win, but I also know the local prosecutors. Each local official has their own set of practices and expectations, and my genuine insight collected from years of lawyering in New Jersey gives my clients an edge that only an experienced local attorney can provide.
Contact me today for a free and confidential consultation at 1-866-664-8118. Our firm defends individuals accused of offenses in counties throughout the State of New Jersey such as Middlesex County, Essex County Somerset County, Hudson County, Ocean County, Monmouth County, and Union County including the towns of Elizabeth, Linden, Clark, Rahway, Roselle, Roselle Park, Hillside, Garwood, Cranford, Mountainside, Plainfield, Berkeley Heights, New Providence, Berkeley Heights and Fanwood.