I Got Caught Driving Without Insurance!
You Could Be Facing A Mandatory One Year Loss Of Your License
Driving without insurance has always been one of the most serious traffic offenses in the state of New Jersey. If found guilty, the result may include severe fines and jail time.
In New Jersey, there is no such thing as a provisional license that will allow you to drive your car for work or family emergency during the period of your suspension. When you lose your license, you have lost it completely during the period of suspension.
If you have been charged with driving without insurance in New Jersey, The Law Offices of Anthony N. Palumbo will put over 35 years of criminal trial experience to work to aggressively defend your case. I will utilize every defense possible to help you avoid heavy fines and keep your driving privileges.
Penalties For Driving Without Insurance In New Jersey
If you are convicted of driving without insurance, you will face severe penalties. These penalties increase if you have already been convicted of these charges previously.
For a violation of N.JS.39:6B-2
- Fines between $300 – $1,000
- One year driver’s license suspension
- A period of community service to be determined by the court
- DMV surcharges of $250 for three years
- Court costs and fees
- Fines up to $5,000
- Jail time of 14 days (mandatory)
- Perform community service for 30 days
- Forfeit the right to operate a motor vehicle for a period of 2 years
Possible Defenses To Driving Without Insurance
It is incredibly important to your defense that you have an experienced New Jersey traffic attorney by your side, otherwise you may be pleading guilty to charges that could otherwise be dismissed. I will give you an honest assessment of your situation, explain whether any defenses apply, and help you explore the best path forward for your unique case.
Some possible defenses to driving without insurance include:
- You were unaware that your insurance policy was canceled because you were never notified.
- You thought you were insured under another member of your household’s policy
- You were not operating a vehicle within the statutory definition of ‘operation’
- You were unaware that your policy was canceled because your agent did not properly handle the payment or for some other reason without your knowledge.
Trust An Attorney With Over 35 Years Of Experience In New Jersey Traffic Offenses
If you have been charged with driving without insurance in New Jersey, contact me for a free initial consultation at 908-643-6801, and I will be happy to discuss any questions you may have. My firm defends individuals throughout New Jersey including the counties of Monmouth, Union, Somerset, Middlesex, Mercer, Hudson, and Essex.