How to Avoid Increased Insurance Costs When You Get a Speeding Ticket in New Jersey
Paying the fine for a traffic ticket is bad enough, but getting points on your license can also increase your car insurance premiums by 50 percent or more. Luckily, there are ways to keep your insurance costs down when you get a ticket for violations like speeding, reckless driving, driving with a suspended or invalid license, careless driving, improper passing, or running a red light. Anthony N. Palumbo, New Jersey criminal defense lawyer, has over 35 years experience fighting speeding tickets and traffic violations to help his clients keep a clean record and avoid increased insurance costs. To keep your insurance rates down as much as possible, follow these tips whenever you get a ticket and call 1-866-664-8118 for a free consultation.
- Hire an experienced New Jersey Traffic Lawyer
Choosing not to fight your traffic ticket will result in your insurance premiums going up for three years, so the most important thing you can do is hire a lawyer who knows how to fight speeding charges and other traffic violations. Your attorney will be able to identify possible defenses in your case in order to reduce or dismiss the charges, which will lead to a smaller fine or no fine at all and will also keep your insurance rates from going up. Even if your charges can’t be eliminated, a skilled traffic defense lawyer can persuade the judge hearing your case to consider sentencing you to a driver education course or community service instead of putting points on your license, and if you complete the sentence, your insurance company won’t find out about it or increase your rates.
- Learn the default rules for speeding in New Jersey.
Getting points on your license for one ticket can lead to your premium going up by 10-20%, but if you receive two additional tickets in three years, your insurance rates could double. To avoid getting more tickets, learn the default rules for speeding in New Jersey. Unless you’re driving in a 65 mph zone, for example, you can’t drive over 50 mph. And in business or residential districts, you can’t go faster than 25 mph. Speed limits can be lower if signs are posted, but knowing the default rules can still help you in many circumstances.
- Don’t attract attention from police while you’re on the road.
You’re less likely to get pulled over if you keep a low profile, so avoid attracting unnecessary attention from police officers. One way to do this is to make sure that you replace burned out headlights and signal lights and take the time to make other inexpensive repairs like fixing broken windows and replacing missing license plates. You should also avoid driving flashy cars, playing loud music, passing police cars, and weaving in and out of traffic lanes while passing other cars.
- Be on your best behavior if you get pulled over.
You can sometimes get a warning instead of a ticket when you get pulled over, so make sure you know the most appropriate way to interact with police officers on highway patrol. For instance, as soon as you see an officer signaling you, pull over at the first available safe location, turn your car off, and sit in the car quietly with your hands on top of the steering wheel where the officer can see them. Move slowly when getting your license and registration and if the officer asks why he pulled you over, always say “no officer, I don’t know.” Most importantly, be polite and courteous, and never argue with the officer. Even if he gives you a ticket instead of a warning, being respectful will make it much easier to work out a possible plea negotiation when you fight your ticket in court.
- Don’t assume that a New Jersey traffic ticket won’t have consequences if you’re from another state.
Out-of-state offenses can affect your insurance rates just like speeding tickets in your own state, so if you’re licensed in another state, make sure that you consult with an experienced New Jersey traffic defense attorney about your charges. An in-state lawyer can easily assist you in avoiding the time an expense involved in having to return to New Jersey to fight your ticket, and by eliminating or reducing the charges, a skilled New Jersey traffic defense lawyer can also help you to avoid increased insurance costs.
If you’ve received a ticket for speeding or another traffic violation, hiring an experienced New Jersey traffic ticket lawyer will give you an advantage when you go to court to fight the ticket. A skilled defense attorney will be able to get your points reduced or dismissed, which will result in decreased fines and will also help you to avoid increases in your insurance premiums. Your attorney will also be able to give you advice about how to avoid future tickets by explaining default traffic rules and exceptions, showing you how to avoid attracting attention from police while you’re driving, and telling you what you should do if you get pulled over again. Whether you’re an in-state or out-of-state driver, having an experienced speeding ticket lawyer is by far the most important thing you can do to prevent your insurance rates from going up after getting pulled over in New Jersey.
Don’t wait until it’s too late to fight your charges—consult with an attorney as soon as possible. If you’re looking for a traffic defense lawyer, you can contact Anthony N. Palumbo, New Jersey Criminal Defense Lawyer, at 1-866-664-8118 for a free and confidential consultation. I have over 35 years of experience representing clients charged with speeding and other traffic violations, and I can help you to avoid fines and increased insurance costs.
More information about fighting traffic tickets
- How to Avoid Getting a Speeding Ticket,
- What to Do When a Police Officer Pulls You Over,
- Why You Should Fight a Speeding Ticket,
- New Jersey Speeding Ticket Law,
- Reckless Driving in New Jersey,
- Driving with a Suspended or Revoked License,
- Running a Red Light or Stop Sign, and
- Speeding Violations for Out-of-State Drivers