New Jersey residents who hold commercial driver's licenses might be interested in learning about the differences between DUIs filed against professional drivers and charges levied against the non-commercial drivers. The commercial driver category encompasses a wide variety of drivers, including any person who owns or leases commercial motor vehicles.
On April 1, a 24-year-old New Jersey man was sentenced to six years in prison in connection to a deadly drunk driving crash in Woodbridge in October 2014. He will not be eligible for parole for more than five years.
On March 14, police released a Jersey City councilman after he was arrested on suspicion of DUI that morning. Police arrested the councilman following a three-car accident, which police are still looking into. The councilman was brought up on DWI charges before his release. A city spokesperson said that there would be consequences following the final police report.
A 66-year-old woman leaving a New Jersey liquor store was taken into custody for drunk driving on Feb. 19 around 5:30 p.m. after an anonymous phone call to police claimed she was swerving before turning into the store's parking lot. According to a police officer who responded to the tip, the woman left the liquor store and got into her car. She began swerving again as she drove up the road.
People who have been charged with drunk driving in the state of New Jersey have several options available for their defense. Although they will of course be considered innocent until they are proven guilty, an assertive attempt to defend themselves against the charges may result in a much more positive outcome.
Police pulled over a woman allegedly driving 5 mph in Plainsboro on Aug. 16. The authorities received a call about an erratic driver, and the woman may have been under the influence of alcohol.
Authorities reported that a recent accident on the George Washington Bridge may have involved a drunk driver. According to law enforcement officials, there was an open bottle of vodka in one of the vehicles involved in the August 7 incident.
Police in New Jersey have charged a 50-year-old woman with DWI, endangering the welfare of a child, and several other offenses. According to Toms River police, a mother hired the woman to babysit her two-year-old son, and left the woman in her home at around 10 a.m. on August 1. Reports say that the mother returned home at around 2 p.m. and found the woman passed out on the floor due to intoxication. The 2-year-old was crying when the mother returned.
A New Jersey woman who allegedly refused to submit to a breath test in April 2012 had her conviction upheld in a state appeals court. The defendant was required to install an ignition interlock device on her vehicle, spend 48 hours in an Intoxicated Driver Resource Center and submit to a two-year license suspension.
A Raritan woman has been charged in a drunk driving incident after allegedly running into a police car in the early hours of July 4. At approximately 2:49 a.m., the woman allegedly sideswiped a patrol car that was parked on the side of West Sylvania Avenue. The patrol car's lights were flashing at the time of the incident, according to the Neptune City public safety director.