On April 1, a 24-year-old New Jersey man was sentenced to six years in prison in connection to a deadly drunk driving crash in Woodbridge in October 2014. He will not be eligible for parole for more than five years.
On March 14, police released a Jersey City councilman after he was arrested on suspicion of DUI that morning. Police arrested the councilman following a three-car accident, which police are still looking into. The councilman was brought up on DWI charges before his release. A city spokesperson said that there would be consequences following the final police report.
People who have been charged with drunk driving in the state of New Jersey have several options available for their defense. Although they will of course be considered innocent until they are proven guilty, an assertive attempt to defend themselves against the charges may result in a much more positive outcome.
Hopatcong police say that they took three people into custody on Jan. 5 after receiving a call at around 10:40 p.m. concerning a vehicle on Harvard Trail and Divito Trail. The caller noted that a light inside the car was being turned on and off.
According to court records, charges against the Lambertville Mayor accusing him of driving under the influence were dismissed on Dec. 11 in Mansfield Municipal Court. In exchange for the dismissal, the mayor reportedly pleaded guilty to charges of reckless driving and failing to maintain a lane for the Nov. 9 incident.
Police in New Jersey accused a man of driving while drunk, leading officers on a chase and several moving violations on Nov. 3. Officers in Garwood took the Roselle man into custody on charges of DWI, eluding an officer and other offenses.
Many New Jersey drivers may not be fully aware of the penalties that can accompany a DWI conviction. While all DWI-related penalties are serious on their own, the severity of these penalties may increase depending on the offender's blood alcohol content and prior convictions.
The offense of driving under the influence of alcohol carries grave consequences that could affect a driver's life in a considerable and enduring way. Upon conviction, even first-time offenders will lose their driving privileges for up to one year if their blood alcohol content level registered at .10 percent or higher. The court may also require offenders to install an ignition interlock device in their vehicles for up to one year after license restoration.
Police pulled over a woman allegedly driving 5 mph in Plainsboro on Aug. 16. The authorities received a call about an erratic driver, and the woman may have been under the influence of alcohol.
A woman in New Jersey whose parked car was allegedly hit by a drunk driver led police to the man's house after reportedly tailing him. The driver now faces a charge of DWI as well as leaving the scene, careless driving and failing to report the accident.