The results of blood alcohol tests are routinely used as evidence in criminal cases in New Jersey. These tests are most frequently used to document the level of a driver's intoxication in DWI cases. Blood alcohol tests measure the amount of alcohol present in a person's blood at the time of test administration. If the level is above .08 percent, criminal charges may be filed.
A New Jersey woman who allegedly refused to submit to a breath test in April 2012 had her conviction upheld in a state appeals court. The defendant was required to install an ignition interlock device on her vehicle, spend 48 hours in an Intoxicated Driver Resource Center and submit to a two-year license suspension.
A judge in Morristown, New Jersey, let stand a previous ruling issued in Boonton Municipal Court in a New Jersey breath test refusal case. The Superior Court judge found that the failure of police to find an American Sign Language interpreter for a Maywood woman who is deaf to help her understand the consequences of breath test refusal under New Jersey law did not violate her rights. The woman’s defense argued that interpreters are available in other situations and the failure to supply an ASL interpreter in the Bergen County woman’s case is a form of discrimination.
Cranford Police claim that a Newark man refused to submit to a breath test during a driving while intoxicated investigation that followed a minor traffic accident on Sunday evening. Police were called to North Avenue East shortly before 11:00 to investigate a two-car crash. Authorities say that the driver of one of the vehicles had left the scene after his GMC Envoy bumped the back of another vehicle.
New Jersey has stringent laws that govern driving under the influence allegations. A person accused of drunk driving can face a suspension of the privilege to drive, as well as charges in court. DUI offenses involve many different types of issues.