DUI/DWI: Suspensions Are Still A Possibility
New Jersey laws surrounding DUI/DWI are always changing, but one thing remains clear: If you are caught driving a vehicle impaired, you may be facing very serious consequences such as large fines, jail time and a conviction on your criminal record.
As the founding attorney of The Law Offices of Anthony N. Palumbo, I dedicate over 35 years of experience to vigorously defending those accused of DUI/DWI in New Jersey. In the past, license suspension was a given when charged with DUI. But after recent changes in the law, you may be able to keep your license even if you are convicted.
Changes In New Jersey DUI/DWI Law
In the past, license suspension was mandatory under New Jersey law when someone was convicted of DUI. The law changed in 2020, however, allowing for some to keep their licenses as long as they have an ignition interlock device installed in their vehicle.
Under the new law, your license may still be suspended until you install one of these ignition interlock devices. Once one is installed, you may be able to reinstate your license, but will be required to pass a breath test every time you wish to drive that particular vehicle. For more serious DUI charges, your license may still be suspended even when you install an ignition interlock device into your vehicle.
When Will Your License Be Suspended For DUI/DWI?
The question of whether you will lose your license, and for how long, depends on the severity of your DUI/DWI charge and your blood alcohol content (BAC) at the time of the incident.
- BAC between .08% and .10%: Your license may be suspended until you install an ignition interlock device to your vehicle, which must remain installed for three months.
- BAC between .10% and .15%: Similar to the above penalties, but the ignition interlock device must remain installed for as long as seven to 12 months.
- BAC above .15%: Your license will be suspended until you install an ignition interlock device and will remain suspended for four to six months. The device must remain installed in your car for nine to 15 months after your license is reinstated.
The Right Attorney Will Fight To Keep You On The Road
When you are facing DUI charges, I make it my goal to help you maintain your livelihood and get back to living your life. The Law Offices of Anthony N. Palumbo will fight to minimize the charges you are facing, and more importantly, minimize the amount of time you’ll spend without your driver’s license.
The sooner you call my office, the more time I will have to defend your case. Call 908-643-6801 today to begin discussing your options, or reach out online to set up an appointment. Initial consultations are free.