An Aggressive Defense To Protect You From DUI/DWI Charges
If you have been arrested for driving while intoxicated, it is very important to choose a competent and aggressive lawyer with skill and experience. You want a DUI lawyer who is respected by police, judges and prosecutors.
I am Anthony N. Palumbo, a partner at The Law Offices of Anthony N. Palumbo with offices in Cranford, Elizabeth, Essex and Monmouth County, New Jersey. I am an experienced drunk driving lawyer who has handled countless DUI cases over more than 35 years of legal practice.
Contact me today to learn how we can help you win your case at 908-643-6801, or if you are seeking information about changes to New Jersey’s DUI/DWI law. I am here to answer all of your questions.
Everything You Need To Know About Your DUI Charge:
- Ten things to do if pulled over for DUI
- Stages of a DUI
- DUI penalties and fines
- DUI traffic stop
- Refusal to provide blood/breath sample
- First-time DUI/DWI offense
- Second-time DUI/DWI offense
- Third-time DUI/DWI offense
- Out-of-state DWI/DUI penalties and refusal charges
Whether you think you are guilty or not, never talk to the police. No matter how much an officer encourages your “cooperation,” or how insignificant the question seems, always stay quiet. Keeping quiet is harder than it sounds, but it is the one critical thing that you can do for your defense.
What Happens When You Are Convicted Of DUI In New Jersey?
Because of the seriousness of DWI charges, a conviction will have a big impact on your life. It pays to have an experienced attorney on your side.
Aside from a criminal record, a conviction can lead to serious penalties such as:
- Jail time
- Installation of an ignition interlock device on your car
- Potential loss of your driver’s license
- Increased car insurance rates
- Mandatory attendance at alcohol education programs
- Community service
Ignition Interlock Devices And License Suspension
If you are convicted of drunk driving, you may be required to install an ignition interlock device (IID) into your vehicle. Your license will likely be suspended until you install this device. The requirements for installing an IID differ depending on the amount of alcohol you have in your system when you are tested.
- If your blood-alcohol content (BAC) tested above 0.08% but below 0.10%, the device must remain installed for three months.
- If you tested above 0.10% but below 0.15%, the device must remain in place for seven to 12 months.
- If you tested above 0.15%, your license will remain suspended for four to six months after you install the device. After the suspension period, the device must remain installed in your vehicle for nine to 15 months.
There will also be a separate municipal court hearing to determine whether you will get a fine or jail time. It is very important to be represented by a DUI attorney at this hearing. With the help of The Law Offices of Anthony N. Palumbo, it may be possible to minimize the penalties you face.
Can You Fight Breath Test Results?
The most common type of evidence the prosecutor has after a drinking and driving arrest is the breath test. These tests are not infallible. A qualified operator must administer the test, the correct chemicals must be used, and external factors such as radio interference can affect the machines.
I am highly experienced at working with qualified experts to examine the details of breath tests and determine whether their results can be challenged. It is only after I have examined every possibility for a dismissal of the drunk driving charges that there will be a discussion concerning the best possible plea bargain that might be obtained in your case.
An Example Of What I Can Do for You
I recently had a DUI case in which a young man was charged with DUI after blowing a .10% blood alcohol concentration (BAC). It was his second DUI offense. He was facing three months in jail, a two-year license suspension and thousands of dollars in fines. We went to trial, and I got him off with no jail time, $200 in fines, zero points on his license and a three-month license suspension. And this was his second DUI offense!
These are the kind of results I get for my clients. I won’t judge or lecture you on your behavior. My only concern is that you receive the results you need, and fast. Don’t wait to consult with a DUI defense attorney to learn your options.
Trust A DWI Attorney To Defend Your Driving Rights
You should always work with a proven DUI defense attorney whenever you are facing drunk driving charges. Learn more about what to do if you are pulled over for drunk driving, and contact me at 908-643-6801 to take the first step toward avoiding or reducing the consequences of a DUI or DWI conviction.