When you face a New Jersey driving while intoxicated charge that ultimately results in a conviction, you can anticipate that your bank account will take a serious hit in the aftermath. While you can plan on having to pay fines, fees and other expenses relating to your arrest, which can add up fast, you are likely to also face additional expenses once you try to get your driver’s license back.

For example, Insure.com reports that all Americans, regardless of where they reside geographically, should anticipate that they will have to pay significantly more for automotive insurance coverage after a DWI conviction. Just how much you can expect your insurance rates to increase, however, will depend on circumstances, although, nationally, first-time drunk drivers typically see their insurance rates shoot up anywhere between 28 and 371 percent.

New Jersey motorists with DWIs on their records see some of the nation’s highest auto insurance rate hikes, with the average state driver experiencing an automotive insurance increase of 132 percent. To give you a better idea of what this might look like, know that, before a DWI conviction, most New Jersey drivers pay about $1,419 each year for car insurance. After a first-time DWI conviction, though, New Jersey drivers can anticipate having to pony up about $3,292 a year just to cover themselves.

While it can prove frustrating to have to pay so much more than you used to for insurance coverage, in some cases, you may find it difficult to find an insurer at all. Some companies are reluctant to extend coverage to drivers with DWIs on their records, in which case you may need to shop around in order to find a manageable rate.

This information is for educational purposes, only, and does not constitute legal advice.