The Law Offices of Palumbo & Renaud
Phone: 908-316-8671

Can you refuse a breathalyzer test in New Jersey?

When you see flashing lights in your rearview mirror, a fun night with friends can quickly turn into the worst night of your life. Maybe you had two beers, or perhaps you had a couple more than two beers. You are not sure if you are going to pass a breathalyzer test. You decide refusing a breathalyzer is your best option, but you are not sure if you can legally do so.

A license implies consent

New Jersey is an implied consent state. When you are issued a New Jersey license, you consent to taking a blood alcohol concentration (BAC) test, if pulled over on suspicion of drunk driving. However, you can still technically refuse to take a breathalyzer test.

What happens if you refuse?

There are several things that can happen when you refuse a breathalyzer. The police may take you in and ask to have your blood drawn. If you are afraid of needles, you could also refuse a blood test. However, that does not mean you will just walk away from the situation.

When you will not take a breathalyzer test, you face charges for refusal. These penalties are not insignificant. You may face:

  • 1st refusal: Loss of your license for one to three years and fines ranging from $600 to $1,000
  • 2nd refusal: loss of your license for four years and fines of $1,000 to $2,000
  • 3rd refusal: Loss of your license for 20 years if near a school when pulled over and fines of $2,000

In addition to these possible penalties, you may still be charged with DWI, if there is evidence to support the accusation. This evidence could include the officer’s testimony or eyewitness accounts.

It is possible to refuse a breathalyzer test in New Jersey, but the penalties if convicted are severe. It is also no guarantee that you will not face DWI charges.

No Comments

Leave a comment
Comment Information

Learn How I Can Help You

Bold labels are required.

Contact Information
disclaimer.

The use of the Internet or this form for communication with the firm or any individual member of the firm does not establish an attorney-client relationship. Confidential or time-sensitive information should not be sent through this form.

close

Privacy Policy

Cranford Office
190 North Avenue East Suite 1
Cranford, NJ 07016

Toll Free: 866-664-8118
Phone: 908-316-8671
Cranford Law Office Map

Elizabeth Office
740 Newark Avenue
Elizabeth, NJ 07208

Toll Free: 866-664-8118
Phone: 908-316-8671
Elizabeth Law Office Map

Brielle Office
503 Union Avenue
Brielle, NJ 08730

Toll Free: 866-664-8118
Phone: 908-316-8671
Map & Directions

Phone: 908-316-8671 Fax: 908-272-9029
Can you refuse a breathalyzer test in New Jersey? | The Law Offices of Palumbo & Renaud