In the state of New Jersey, it’s illegal to take marijuana for recreational purposes. However, in select cases, New Jersey residents can take marijuana to treat their medical conditions. For example, if you have a fatal condition that will lead to your death within 12 months, you can get permission to take marijuana without getting in trouble with the law.
The limitations are still strict regarding medical pot in New Jersey, but if you have one of the following conditions, you can legally take this often-helpful medication:
- Amyotrophic Lateral Sclerosis (ALS)
- Crohn’s disease
- Inflammatory bowel disease
- Multiple Sclerosis (MS)
- Muscular Dystrophy (MD)
- Seizure and/or spasticity disorders
- Post-traumatic stress disorder (PTSD)
- Terminal illnesses if they will result in death within 12 months
Keep in mind that simply believing you have one of the above conditions is not enough to start taking marijuana on your own. You must receive a diagnosis from a doctor and you will only be permitted to take the medical grade marijuana prescribed by your doctor.
Due to the strict limitations on medical marijuana in New Jersey at this time, there are numerous individuals who choose to self-medicate with marijuana for their nonapproved medical condition in violation of the law. However, it’s important to note that if you take street marijuana, or if you self-diagnose or self-medicate, you could find yourself in serious trouble with the law.
Have you been accused of a marijuana violation because you were taking the drug to self medicate? You may want to handle your criminal defense carefully. With appropriate care, you may be able to improve your legal situation.
Source: norml.com, “New Jersey Medical Marijuana Law,” accessed Dec. 01, 2017