Marijuana continues to be illegal in the state of New Jersey, except for some limited medical applications. Even though other states have legalized the substance for recreational purposes, if you’re caught with this plant on your person in New Jersey, you will face stiff legal consequences.
How bad are the penalties for marijuana possession in New Jersey?
- If you possess up to 50 grams of marijuana you will be charged with a “Disorderly Person” offense, which is punishable with up to 6 months in jail and a fine of up to $1,000.
- If you possess over 50 grams of marijuana, you’ll be charged with a 4th degree crime, which is punishable with up to 18 months in prison and up to a $25,000 fine.
- If you possess marijuana inside 1,000 feet of a school, you’ll have a 100-hour community service sentence added to your punishment as well as a fine.
Punishments related to distribution and/or the intent to distribute, and punishments related to marijuana cultivation are even worse than the punishments outlined above. For example, if you’re found growing the largest quantity of marijuana (50 plants and up), you could be sent to jail for 10 to 20 years and face a fine of up to $300,000.
Like any kind of criminal conviction, marijuana crimes will remain on your record for a very long time. If you’ve been charged with any kind of drug violation, however, you will have the right to fight back against the charges with a well-organized criminal defense.
Source: norml.org, “New Jersey Laws & Penalties,” accessed July 14, 2017