The Law Offices of Palumbo & Renaud
Phone: 908-316-8671

Is drunk driving a criminal offense in New Jersey?

Drunk driving laws in New Jersey differ from the vast majority of the country. A DUI is considered both a traffic violation and a criminal offense in most states, and can be charged as a misdemeanor or felony depending on numerous contributing factors.

Under New Jersey law, however, a DUI is defined as a traffic violation alone and is not considered a criminal act. Even so, the penalties for a conviction can be extremely serious. While first-time offenders usually face a three-month license suspension, this can be extended for up to a year if they have a blood alcohol content of over .10 at the time of the offense. A first offense also carries a minimum $250 fine and can potentially be punished by up to 30 days of jail time.

While a New Jersey DUI conviction will not appear on an individual's criminal record, it will stay on that person's driving record for up to 10 years. If you are convicted of a future DUI, any previous convictions during this period will be taken into account during sentencing, leading to more severe penalties.

A second DUI carries a fine of $500-$1000, a minimum 48 hours and a maximum 90 days in jail and a 2 year license suspension. These penalties are the same whether you were heavily intoxicated or just over the limit. A third conviction will result in a fine of $1000 and 180 days of jail time, as well as a 10 year suspension of driving privileges.

A DUI conviction may not be considered a criminal offense in New Jersey, but the consequences are nonetheless extremely serious. If you have been arrested for driving while intoxicated, the counsel of an experienced drunk driving attorney can help you to avoid or mitigate the penalties you are facing.

No Comments

Leave a comment
Comment Information

Learn How I Can Help You

Bold labels are required.

Contact Information
disclaimer.

The use of the Internet or this form for communication with the firm or any individual member of the firm does not establish an attorney-client relationship. Confidential or time-sensitive information should not be sent through this form.

close

Privacy Policy

Cranford Office
190 North Avenue East Suite 1
Cranford, NJ 07016

Toll Free: 866-664-8118
Phone: 908-316-8671
Cranford Law Office Map

Elizabeth Office
740 Newark Avenue
Elizabeth, NJ 07208

Toll Free: 866-664-8118
Phone: 908-316-8671
Elizabeth Law Office Map

Brielle Office
503 Union Avenue
Brielle, NJ 08730

Toll Free: 866-664-8118
Phone: 908-316-8671
Map & Directions

Phone: 908-316-8671 Fax: 908-272-9029
Is drunk driving a criminal offense in New Jersey? | The Law Offices of Palumbo & Renaud