Most parents in New Jersey may know that the Graduated Driver License law in the state places specified restrictions on a teen’s privilege to drive. The restrictions include the hours of the day a teen may drive and limit a probationary license holder to having only one passenger in the car(with exceptions), according to the New Jersey Division of Highway Traffic Safety. A GDL decal must also be affixed to any car the teen drives. Other limitations are also defined by the law.
But, juveniles are subject to many other laws, including the prohibition of driving while intoxicated. When a teen is facing a DWI charge, it is important for parents to consider seeking the assistance of a private DWI defense lawyer. A DWI defense lawyer can analyze the case, and provide a defense the state’s allegations. In some cases, negotiating a plea deal within the rules of court may provide a favorable outcome.
A 17-year-old high school senior recently entered a plea deal after being charged with a string of offenses in Bernards Township, New Jersey. The teen was charged with nine offenses after being stopped on Lake Road in January. A patrolman says that he noted that the teen was driving on a flat tire shortly after 10:00 in the morning. The start of the school day was delayed that morning due to weather.
Law enforcement says that the teen was driving under the influence with five passengers in the car. A breath test revealed an alcohol level of 0.27 percent, according to police. Because of the location of the arrest, the teen was charged with DWI, and DWI within 1,000 feet of a school, as well as seven other offenses. He resolved the charges with a plea to three charges, with six counts being dismissed under the plea agreement.
Source: The Bernardsville News, “Drunk driving charge costly for Ridge teen,” W. Jacob Perry, March 28, 2014