Operating a motor vehicle while under the influence of alcohol can have unfavorable consequences. A conviction can mean the loss of driving privileges, fines, fees and some embarrassment. A person facing these types of charges should learn what the possible penalties mean and speak to someone who can help create a defense with the best possible outcome.
One of the consequences of a DUI is the affect it can have on your license and ability to drive. In New Jersey, there is no special license consideration. If your license is suspended, you cannot drive at all, including to or from work. For first offenders with a blood alcohol concentration of 0.08 percent but less than 0.10 percent, a three-month license suspension, up to 30 days' imprisonment and a fine between $250 and $400 is possible. The driver would also be required to attend 12 to 48 hours at the intoxicated driver resource center. If a driver's BAC was 0.10 percent or higher, the license suspension increases to between seven months and one year and the fine is between $300 and $500.
Subsequent offenses have stiffer penalties. For example, a person convicted of a third DUI offense could face a 10-year license suspension, a $1,000 fine, up to six months in jail, three months of community service and 12 to 48 hours at IDRC. A driver could also be ordered to install an ignition interlock device and pay additional insurance surcharges ranging from $3,000 to $4,500 depending on the number of offenses the driver has made in the previous three years.
Source: New Jersey Motor Vehicle Commission, "NJ Facts driving under the influence (DUI) point system," accessed May 20, 2016