When an individual in New Jersey is convicted of DUI, the law mandates that the person must undergo and complete an Intoxicated Driver Program. Every county in the state of New Jersey has an Intoxicated Driving Resource Center, for first and third-time offenders. Second-time offenders must follow the program at one of the three regional centers located around the state.
The IDP offers interventions for those convicted of a DUI involving either alcohol or drugs. The IDRCs detain and screen those convicted of DUI to determine if they are in need of additional addiction treatment. These local centers provide educational elements in which individuals must attend alcohol and highway safety courses. IDRCs also provide courts with compliance reports and make recommendations to the Motor Vehicle Commission on whether individuals' licenses should be restored or suspended.
If the assessment points to the need for addiction treatment, offenders are required to participate in and complete a treatment program for a minimum of 16 weeks. Failure to comply with any portion of the IDP will likely mean a lengthy driver's license suspension and possible jail time.
There are numerous fees and charges associated with the IDP including a $100 attendance fee and costly fees determined by the number of offenses. Participants will also pay a fee to have their licenses restored upon successful completion of the program.
If you have been arrested for DUI in New Jersey, you will benefit from legal advice as soon as possible. With an advocate by your side, it may be possible to avoid conviction altogether and stay out of the Intoxicated Driver Program.
Source: State of New Jersey, Motor Vehicle Commission, "Intoxicated Driver Program (IDP)," accessed March 11, 2016