Unlicensed Drivers

New Jersey Unlicensed Driver Attorney

It is a traffic violation to drive in New Jersey without possessing a driver's license or validated permit, unless the driver is participating in a driver's training course and is under supervision. A person who violates this law faces fines of up to $500 and jail time of up to 60 days. If the driver has never been licensed (i.e. juvenile), the penalties include a minimum $200 fine, and the inability to apply for a license for 6 months from the date of eligibility. My name is Anthony N. Palumbo, partner at Palumbo & Renaud, and I have been defending Unlicensed Drivers in Union County, New Jersey for over 35 years.

If you have received a criminal charge, traffic summons or ticket for Unlicensed Driving, or any other traffic infraction in New Jersey including DUI/DWI, Driving without Insurance, Reckless Driving, Careless Driving, Speeding, or Driving with a Suspended or Revoked License, Leaving the Scene of an Accident, Failure to Report an Accident, or Failure to Stop, I can help. Contact me today for a free initial consultation by phone or in person at 1-866-664-8118. I defend individuals throughout New Jersey including Monmouth County, Middlesex County, Union County, Essex County, Hudson County, Passaic County, Somerset County, and Ocean County.

NJ Unlicensed Drivers

Under N.J.S.A. 39:3-10, the applicable New Jersey statute for Unlicensed Drivers, "no person shall drive a motor vehicle on a public highway in this State unless the person is under supervision while participating in a behind-the-wheel driving course…or is in possession of a validated permit, or a provisional or basic driver's license issued to him in accordance with this article. N.J.S.A. 39:3-10.

Penalties for Unlicensed Drivers

The penalties for a violation of N.J.S.A. 39:3-10 include:

  • A surcharge of $100 per year for 3 years; and
  • A Fine of up to $500; and
  • Up to 60 days in jail

The fines above apply to an individual who is unlicensed, but at one time possessed a valid driver's license. If a person has never possessed a valid driver's license, the penalties are slightly different. Such penalties include:

  • A minimum $200 fine; and
  • A 180 day (6 months) inability to apply for a license from the time of eligibility.

Defenses

Notice that the penalties for a violation of N.J.S.A. 39:3-10 depend on whether a person has previously held a valid driver's license or was simply unlicensed at the time of the offense. It is common for a violation of the former situation to occur when a person has re-located to the state of New Jersey, has not obtained a valid New Jersey driver's license, and there is some impediment with his driver's license in his former state of residence. In such cases, it may be possible to defend the ticket or charge by proving the problem with the individual's out-of-state license was a mistake, and the individuals did not have reason to know of the problem. Additionally, if the individual charged is a driver who has never received a license, the charge may be defended on grounds that the unlicensed driver was enrolled in a driver's course and was participating in that course under the proper supervision as the time of the violation.

NJ Traffic Attorney

Even a minor traffic violation can result in a stressful experience and have a sizable impact on your life. Don't underestimate the importance of having an experienced New Jersey Traffic Attorney on your side when defending a charge, traffic summons, or citation for Unlicensed Driving. As a Union County Traffic Attorney, I can easily defend this type of charge. It is important to contact an attorney immediately, especially before going to court. An appearance in court or the entrance of a guilty plea can bind you to penalties that you otherwise may not have been subjected to. Contact me today for a free initial consultation at 1-866-664-8118 by phone or in person at either of my two conveniently located offices.

I represent individuals before all of the Union County municipal courts:

Westfield, Cranford, Elizabeth, Clark, Garwood, Hillside, Linden, Mountainside, Plainfield, New Providence, Rahway, Roselle, Roselle Park, Fanwood, Scotch Plains, Springfield, Union Township, Berkeley Heights and Summit.

I am Anthony N. Palumbo of the firm Palumbo & Renaud, located on 190 North Avenue, Cranford, New Jersey 07016 and 740 Newark Avenue, Elizabeth, New Jersey 07208. I defend individuals charged with Municipal Offenses in Municipal Courts throughout New Jersey including charges such as Writing Bad Checks, Possession of Marijuana, DUI/DWI, Careless Driving, Reckless Driving, Speeding, Disorderly Conduct, and Simple Assault.