Reckless Driving

New Jersey Reckless Driving Attorney

Reckless Driving is a criminal offense that occurs when a person drives in a way that willfully endangers others, and Careless Driving is a traffic violation that occurs when a driver fails to use due caution. Although penalties for Reckless Driving are much greater than for Careless Driving, whether you are charged with Careless Driving, Reckless Driving, Speeding, Driving without Insurance, Failure to Stop, Improper Lane Change, Leaving the Scene of an Accident, Driving on a Suspended or Revoked License, or any other traffic violation in New Jersey, it is important to contact an experienced criminal defense lawyer. My name is Anthony N. Palumbo, New Jersey DWI Lawyer and Traffic Attorney, and I have been successfully defending individuals in Union County New Jersey for over 35 years.

I know how the prosecution works and I have knowledge of which defenses are most effective in fighting your charge. I have defended more than 10,000 people charged with traffic offenses in Union County and throughout New Jersey. If you have been arrested, or have received a criminal charge, traffic summons, New Jersey Traffic Ticket, or complaint, I can assist you with your case. Contact me at 1-866-664-8118 for a free initial consultation by phone or in person. I defend individuals throughout New Jersey including Union County, Middlesex County, Monmouth County, Essex County, Ocean County, Somerset County, Hudson County, and Morris County.

Reckless & Careless Driving in New Jersey

Reckless Driving and Careless Driving are similar, but like Speeding, Careless Driving is not considered as serious. Take a look at the differences between Careless and Reckless Driving in New Jersey.

§ 39:4-96. Reckless driving

Reckless Driving means driving a vehicle heedlessly, in willful or wanton disregard of the rights or safety of others, in a manner so as to endanger, or be likely to endanger, a person or property. N.J.S.A. § 39:4-96.

§ 39:4-97. Careless driving

Careless Driving means driving carelessly, or without due caution and circumspection, in a manner so as to endanger, or be likely to endanger, a person or property. N.J.S.A. § 39:4-97.

Penalties & Defenses in New Jersey

There are many defenses that can be utilized on your behalf against a charge of Careless or Reckless Driving. For example, if you have been charged with Speeding or Speeding is the basis of your Reckless or Careless Driving charge, the evidence can be challenged on grounds that the radar equipment was not working properly or the officer was not properly trained to use the equipment. However, if you are convicted of Careless or Reckless Driving, the penalties are as follows.

  • Reckless Driving: If you are convicted of Reckless Driving, the penalties include jail time for up to 60 days, a fine in between $50 and $200, and 5 points on your license. For a subsequent conviction, the driver will face up to 3 months in prison and a fine between $100 and $500.
  • Careless Driving: If you are convicted of Careless Driving, the penalties include up to 15 days in jail, $200 fine, and 2 points on your license.

NJ DWI & Reckless Driving

Reckless Driving is often charged in conjunction with other Traffic Offenses such as Speeding, Leaving the Scene of an Accident or DUI/DWI. With DUI/DWI for example, this is a common occurrence because driving under the influence of drugs or alcohol frequently establishes recklessness in New Jersey. If an experienced New Jersey Reckless Driving Lawyer can show that you were not under the influence when driving, it will be more difficult for the prosecution to prove that your driving was reckless.

NJ Reckless Driving Lawyer

If you have received a traffic charge in New Jersey, it is extremely important to contact an attorney right away. I cannot tell you how many clients come into my office with charges that could have easily been reduced or dismissed, but because they have already gone to court, irreversible injury has been done to their case. Even if you are an out-of-state driver, it is equally important to contact an attorney. An out-of-state charge will not get lost between state lines, and most of the time I can handle everything here without you having to return to New Jersey. Contact me today at 1-866-664-8118.

I will provide you with a free initial consultation by phone or in person at either of my two conveniently located offices.

Union County Carless Driving Lawyer

I am Anthony N. Palumbo of the firm Palumbo & Renaud, located on 190 North Avenue, Cranford, New Jersey 07016 and 740 Newark Avenue, Elizabeth, New Jersey 07208.