New Jersey Aggravated Sexual Assault Charges Lawyer
Have you been accused of aggravated sexual assault? Are you scared about what might happen to you? Aggravated sexual assault carries serious penalties. If you have been charged with this crime, you need a knowledgeable and skilled criminal defense attorney.
I am Anthony N. Palumbo and I am a criminal defense attorney. For more than 35 years, I have defended clients charged with all types of crimes, including aggravated sexual assault, child molestation and sexual assault. As a former prosecutor, I know the tricks and tactics the other side uses. I will use my experience and knowledge to fight for the dismissal of your charges.
I understand that these accusations are frightening. Unfortunately, your fears are probably justified. A mere accusation of a sex crime can cost you your professional and personal reputation. I will protect your rights through this difficult time. For a free and confidential consultation, contact me, a New Jersey aggravated sexual assault charges attorney.
Understanding Aggravated Sexual Assault
Aggravated sexual assault, also known as first-degree sexual assault, can occur in two ways. First, it can occur when an adult commits an act of sexual penetration with a child under the age of 13.
Secondly, it can occur where the victim is at least 13 but under 16 years old and one of the following circumstances is present:
- The adult is related to the victim by blood or affinity to the third degree
- The adult has supervisory or disciplinary power over the victim based on his legal, professional, or occupational relationship with the victim
- The adult is a resource family parent, a guardian, or stands in loco parentis within the household
This type of assault can include a range of common sex crimes, such as rape, statutory rape and child molestation.
Penalties for Aggravated Sexual Assault
If you are convicted of aggravated sexual assault, you could receive a sentence of up to 20 years in prison. Additionally, conviction requires you to register as a sex offender under New Jersey's Megan's Law. This particular crime requires you to register for life. This means that you will need to notify the public of your name, physical features and your crimes.
Contact a Criminal Defense Attorney in Union - Middlesex - Monmouth - Essex County, New Jersey
Don't underestimate the severity of this crime and its consequences. As an experienced criminal defense attorney in New Jersey, I will aggressively defend you from these charges. Contact my sex crime defense firm to discuss your case.