New Jersey Drugs in School Zone Charges Lawyer
Union County Drug Possession Attorney
Need an attorney for drug charges while in a school zone?
Contact me Anthony Palumbo, I have over 35 years experience defending drug charges in New Jersey. Call 866-664-8118 to discuss your case.
NEW JERSEY DRUGS IN A SCHOOL ZONE OFFENSES
Union – Middlesex – Somerset County, New Jersey
Possession of Drugs is a serious charge that can easily become more serious if you are arrested for possession within 1,000 feet of a school zone in New Jersey. If you have been charged with possession of drugs in a school zone, the penalties you are facing will be increased. The applicable increase depends on the amount of drugs in your possession while in the school zone and the type. My name is Anthony N. Palumbo, of the firm Palumbo & Renaud, a former prosecutor, current public defender, with over thirty-five (35) years of criminal trial experience. I have a great extent of experience handling school zone charges. If you would like assistance with your charge, contact me today for a free initial consultation at 1-866-664-8118.
Our firm defends individuals accused of drug offenses throughout New Jersey and Union County including the towns of Elizabeth, Woodbridge, Linden, Rahway, Clark, Roselle, Roselle Park, Springfield, Kenilworth, Union, and Scotch Plains. While this page is in no way a replacement to the valuable role a lawyer can play in resolving your case, it may provide answers to your immediate questions through an overview of the various penalties which apply to possession of drugs in a school zone.
Penalties if Convicted
When a person is convicted of possession of drugs within 1,000 feet of a school zone an additional penalty attaches to what would normally result from a simple possession conviction. The additional sentence depends on the type of drug involved and the quantity. The following explains the attaching penalties based on drug type and quantity.
- Less than 1 ounce=up to a $150,000 fine and 1 additional year in prison without parole
- More than 1 ounce=up to a $150,000 fine and at least 3 years in prison without parole
- Any amount up to a $150,000 fine and at least 3 years in prison without parole
Example: If you are caught with possession of less than 1 ounce of marijuana in a school zone, you may be sentenced to 6 months in prison for simple possession plus 1 year without parole for possession in school zone.
See N.J.S.A. 2C: 35-2 through N.J.S.A. 2C: 53-10 which encompasses all of the New Jersey statutory laws for drug charges in New Jersey
A school zone drug distribution charge is a very serious offense that requires having an experienced defense attorney by your side. My experience and skill will be able to vigorously fight the charges against you. If you would like assistance with your charge, contact me today at 1-866-664-8118 for a Free Initial Consultation.
Anthony N. Palumbo of the law firm of Palumbo & Renaud, located on 190 North Avenue, Cranford, New Jersey 07016 and 740 Newark Avenue, Elizabeth, New Jersey 07208 also defends charges of:
- Possession of Marijuana
- Possession of Drug Paraphernalia
- Possession of Drugs
- Internet Crimes
- Possession of Drugs in a Car
- Distribution of Drugs
- Sex Crimes
- Violent Crimes
- Traffic Offenses and Driving Violations
- Drug Crimes
- Theft and Property Crimes
- White collar crimes
- Eluding an Officer
- Crimes Against Children
- Juvenile Offenses
- Domestic Violence
- Deportation/Criminal Defenses