Sandy Hook New Jersey DUI/DWI Attorney

New Jersey Drunk Driving Lawyer

The natural beauty and recreational opportunities available at Jersey Shore destinations such as Sandy Hook State Park attract thousands of visitors and locals every year, but unfortunately, many of these trips end in drunk driving charges for beach goers who get behind the wheel after drinking too much.

If you've been arrested for a DWI in Sandy Hook, you need a lawyer who will raise every defense in your favor and fight aggressively to reduce your penalties or get your charges dismissed entirely. I am Anthony N. Palumbo, a partner at the criminal defense law firm of Palumbo & Renaud, and I can help fight your Sandy Hook DUI/DWI charges. With more than 35 years of experience and a winning track record in drunk driving cases, I know how to achieve successful results and minimize the consequences of drunk driving charges. Call me today at 1-866-664-8118 for a free and confidential consultation and learn how I can turn your case around.

Sandy Hook DUI/DWI Penalties

The penalties for DWI offenses in New Jersey are as follows:

First-time DWI offense

  • A fine of $250-$500 and additional surcharges
  • Jail for up to 30 days
  • A license suspension ranging from 3 months to 1 year
  • Possible installation of an ignition interlock device for 6 months to 1 year
  • Sentencing to the Intoxicated Driver Resource Center

Second-time DWI offense:

  • A fine of $500-$1,000 and additional surcharges
  • Jail for at least 48 hours and up to 90 days
  • 2 year license suspension
  • Installation of an ignition interlock device for 1 to 3 years
  • Sentencing to the Intoxicated Driver Resource Center
  • Vehicle insurance surcharge of $1,000 a year for 3 years

Third-time or subsequent DWI:

  • A fine of $1,000 and additional surcharges
  • Jail for 180 days
  • 10 year license suspension
  • Installation of an ignition interlock device for 1 to 3 years
  • Sentencing to the Intoxicated Driver Resource Center
  • Attendance at an in-patient alcohol treatment program
  • Vehicle insurance surcharge of $1,500 a year for 3 years

Breath and blood test refusal

Under New Jersey law, drivers have no right to refuse a breathalyzer or blood alcohol test and they can be charged with a refusal offense whether they were intoxicated or not. As with DWI charges, the penalties for refusal offenses increase for second and third time offenses, with possible fines ranging from $600 to $2,000 and license suspensions ranging from 1 to 10 years.

Underage DUI/DWI

The penalties for drunk driving apply to all drivers in New Jersey, including those under the age of 21. While adult drivers are only subject to DWI charges if their blood alcohol content is above the legal limit of .08%, however, underage drivers can face juvenile charges if they have any amount of alcohol in their system. Underage drivers may also face separate charges for underage drinking, which is punishable by a fine of at least $500 and a license suspension lasting up to 6 months.

Defending Your DUI/DWI Charge

Even if the evidence is stacked against you, a skilled DWI defense attorney can often get a favorable result in your case by raising constitutional challenges and procedural errors. Some common defenses in DUI/DWI cases include:

  • Challenging the legality of the traffic stop or road block. If police officers fail to comply with the appropriate procedures for pulling a driver over or fail to establish proof of reasonable suspicion or probable cause, then observations and evidence obtained during the traffic stop may be deemed inadmissible at trial. Without such evidence, prosecutors are often forced to dismiss the charges.
  • Challenging the results of a breathalyzer test. Blood and breathalyzer tests have a reputation for inaccuracy and they can frequently be suppressed if they were administered improperly or police failed to comply with required protocols. For example, the test results may be deemed inadmissible if the police officer who administered the test lacked the requisite qualifications or if the prosecution is unable to produce necessary documentation showing that the machine was working properly at the time of the arrest.
  • Challenging prior DWI convictions. The penalties for multiple DWI charges can be reduced in many cases by challenging the admissibility of the driver's prior convictions. These earlier offenses may be deemed inapplicable, for example, if the defendant received ineffective legal counsel during the prior proceeding.

Hiring a DUI/DWI Defense Attorney

If you've been charged with drunk driving in Sandy Hook State Park or anywhere else in New Jersey, speak with an experienced defense attorney as soon as you can to discuss possible legal defenses and the best strategies for your case. At the law offices of Palumbo & Renaud, I'm always available to go through the facts of your case, explain how your charges will proceed, and help you decide how to move forward. Call me today at 1-866-664-8118 to schedule a free initial consultation and learn how I can help get your charges reduced or dismissed.

More information on DUI/DWI charges in New Jersey: