2nd Time DUI/DWI Offense New Jersey

If you have been arrested for a DWI/DUI in New Jersey you will need to hire an experienced and aggressive attorney who will fight for your license and freedom because the prosecutor will be trying to take away your license and freedom to drive for as long as they can. Penalties for a 2nd Time DUI/DWI offense are more severe than for a first offense and carry a mandatory 48-hour jail sentence; an experienced attorney may be able to keep you out of jail. Additionally, New Jersey lawmakers are currently working to make second DUI/DWI offense penalties even stricter than they are now with serious consequences at the DMV. Having an experienced criminal and municipal court lawyer who knows both sides of the law will provide an aggressive and effective DWI/DUI defense for you.

I am Anthony N. Palumbo, a former prosecutor, current public defender with over thirty-five (35) years experience in my own private practice defending individuals. If you have been charged with a DUI/DWI offense, I can help you resolve your drunk driving charge. Contact me, New Jersey DUI/DWI Defense Lawyer today at 1-866-664-8118, for a free analysis of your DWI/DUI case.

Penalties if Convicted
2 nd Time DUI/DWI Offense

Individuals who have been convicted of a prior DWI/DUI charge will be subjected to much stricter penalties for a second DWI/DUI offense. The following lays out the penalties that result when an individual is convicted of a 2nd DUI/DWI offense in New Jersey. For a 1st Time DUI/DWI offense, the penalties depend on whether drugs were involved and the driver's Blood Alcohol Concentration ("BAC") at the time of arrest. However, for a 2nd Time DUI/DWI offense the penalties are uniform regardless of whether the driver was extremely intoxicated or "just a little tipsy." Second-time DWI/DUI offenders who refuse to take a breathalyzer face even more severe penalties. Penalties include:

  • An initial fine of $500-$1000
  • Jail for at least 48 hours, up to 90 days
  • 2 year license suspension
  • Ignition Interlock Device 1-3 years at your own expense (installed upon completion of suspension
  • May have to spend 6 hours a day for 2 consecutive days in an intoxicated driver resource center
  • Automobile insurance surcharge of $1000 a year for three years
  • Revocation of registration for 2 years
  • Additional surcharges such as:
    $200 surcharge for the drunk driving enforcement fund
    $75 Safe neighborhood fund
    $50 Violent crimes compensation fee
    $150 Intoxicated driver program fee
    $200 NJ MVC restoration charge
    $100 State and municipality fee

If you have been charged with a 1st Time DUI/DWI offense, 2nd Time DUI/DWI Offense, or 3rd Time DUI/DWI Offense, I can help you resolve your charge. I have over 35 years of criminal trial experience prosecuting and defending individuals. For an attorney who is skilled at handling drunk driving charges contact me today at 1-866-664-8118 for a free analysis of your DWI case. DWI/DUI cases are complex, together we can talk about your case and I will devise a hard line defense against your charge. I know what defenses to use to get the best results for you and I will utilize every possible defense on your behalf.

If a Police Officer Pulls You Over For Suspicion Of Drunk Driving:

  • Do not give any information except your name and address
  • Do not get out of your car to perform a roadside test
  • Do not agree to an eye test
  • If asked you must take a breathalyzer test or you will get an automatic license suspension for failure to take the test
  • Always be courteous and polite
  • Provide the officer with the documents requested