Child Molestation Defense Lawyer
Union County Crimes Against Children Lawyer
NJ Sexual Abuse Attorney
The definition of child molestation is a crime involving sexual relations between an adult and a minor child who is usually less than 14 years of age. Charges involving child molestation and crimes against children are particularly sensitive because the victim is a child, and a conviction results in lifelong legal consequences. My name is Anthony N. Palumbo, Union County child molestation attorney, and if you have been charged with child molestation, I urge you to seek legal advice. Even if you are merely being investigated for a crime involving child sexual abuse, it is important to contact a child molestation lawyer. Charges alone can equal guilt in the public eye affecting a person's personal, professional, and social life. I have tried numerous sexual abuse cases and have obtained acquittals within the last four months. I will assist in your criminal defense and make sure that you are treated as innocent unless proven guilty. Contact me today at 1-866-664-8118 for a free initial consultation by phone or in person. I defend individuals accused of crimes against children throughout Union County including Linden, Plainfield, Mountainside, Scotch Plains, Garwood, Elizabeth, and Cranford.
Union County Crimes against Children
It is important to keep in mind that once an allegation of child molestation has been made, it must be investigated and cannot be withdrawn. Often children don’t understand the severity of a child molestation accusation, and can make statements that are not true in the midst of a rough divorce, raging custody battle, or to settle a score with an elder. While the utmost care must be taken to protect children in abuse situations, it is also important to protect the innocent. I have had many cases where a child falsely accused an elder to get back at them, not realizing the severity of the accusations. This kind of accusation is easy revenge because it is instantly destructive and usually there are no witnesses to the alleged act.
New Jersey law requires convicted sex offenders to register with the police. Different levels of community notification exist based on the risk posed, and offenders must often remain on the list permanently. The registrant must provide personal information such as his name, fingerprints, social security number, birthday, sex, race, age, weight, eye and hair color, addresses of all residences, and employment. The registrant also must provide information about his crime. Failure to register is a fourth degree crime.
Creating a hard-line defense is vital in child molestation cases. Cases involving crimes against children are difficult because there are usually no witnesses to the alleged criminal act. Thus, there is often hardly any evidence besides the child’s account of the event. In order to build your defense, I hire psychologists, private investigators, and defense experts to collect all possible evidence that can be used on your behalf. Evidence supporting your case may also be used to elicit a plea bargain in your favor.
Child Molestation & Laws in New Jersey
I have successfully defended individuals falsely accused of child molestation for over 35 years. If you have been accused or charged with a crime against a child, are under investigation for a crime, or merely suspect that you may be investigated in the future, I urge you to seek legal advice immediately. It is important to have an experienced attorney by your side to make sure unnecessary and harmful evidence does not accumulate against you. Whatever you do, do not explain your circumstances to the police, not matter how tempted you are to express your innocence. Everything will be recorded and used against you. Do not even speak to your closest friends about the situation. Contact me at 1-866-664-8118 for a free initial consultation by phone or in person.
Palumbo & Renaud: 190 North Avenue, Cranford, New Jersey 07016; and 740 Newark Avenue, Elizabeth, New Jersey 07208.