Child Molestation


New Jersey Child Molestation Defense Attorney

Have you been accused of a sex crime against a child? A charge this serious can destroy your life even if you are not convicted.

My name is Anthony N. Palumbo, attorney at law. I know what you are going through and I understand the consequences of child sexual abuse charges. I have what it takes to aggressively defend you, and make sure your rights are protected. I vigorously defend clients from all types of child molestation charges, including sexual assault and aggravated sexual assault.

Contact me, a New Jersey child molestation defense lawyer, online or call 866-664-8118 for a free initial consultation. I represent clients from my offices in Cranford, South Orange or Elizabeth, New Jersey.

Aggravated Sexual Assault

Aggravated sexual assault is one type of child molestation charge. It can occur under several different circumstances. First, it can occur if an adult commits an act of sexual penetration with a person under 13 years of age.

A second way it can occur is when the victim is at least 13 years old, but under 16 years old and one of the following circumstances is present:

  • The adult is related to the victim
  • The adult has supervisory or disciplinary power over the victim
  • The adult is a parent, guardian or acts as a parent in the household

Conviction on these child molestation charges carries a penalty of 10 to 20 years in prison.

Sexual Assault

A conviction for sexual assault carries a penalty of five-to-ten years in prison. It can result from committing an act of sexual penetration with a child, but under different circumstances. First, sexual assault can occur where a person commits sexual penetration with a child who is at least 13 but less than 16 years old. The person also has to be at least four years older than the victim.

Second, sexual assault can occur where the victim is at least 16 years old, but less than 18 years old. Just as with the requirements for aggravated sexual assault, the adult must also be related or have supervision over the child.

Registering as a Sex Offender

If you are accused of sexually abusing a child, the penalties do not end when you are released from prison. Megan's Law requires sex offenders to provide their personal information to the public and the Jacob Wetterling Act requires sex offenders to provide information to their communities.

Hire a Skilled Criminal Defense Attorney

As a Union County criminal defense lawyer with more than 35 years of criminal trial experience, I know what defenses will work for you and I will make sure you receive the lightest sentence possible based on the circumstances of your child molestation case.

To view the entire New Jersey statute that pertains to aggravated sexual assault and sexual assault against a child see N.J.S.A. 2C:14-2. If you have been charged with aggravated sexual assault or sexual assault, I can help you understand your situation and defend you from these charges.

Charged With Sexual Assault in Union - Middlesex - Monmouth - Essex Counties

Call me at 866-664-8114 for your free initial consultation and I will listen attentively to your situation. Let my knowledge and experience help you avoid being accused, found guilty or labeled as a sex offender.